23 Jan 2017

Seems to me, Marcus, that we’re all just waiting, a giant collective pause inside a mega chrysalis, waiting to emerge into a reality that finally resonates with our sense of being. Like a long, troubled gestation, that has to end someday in the sheer clarity of golden sunshine.

What if this is it? If this is as much light as you can ever get? If this is all there was ever meant to be?

Look around you at all the magic. Isn’t that too much of an effort, too much of beauty just for this incongruent darkness?

What does the universe’s perfection deserve? A perfect life?

Or a perfect person?

why would a butterfly
dream
of a sullen rosebud

22 thoughts on “23 Jan 2017

  1. I love the chrysalis/butterfly metaphor: ‘a giant collective pause inside a mega chrysalis, waiting to emerge into a reality that finally resonates with our sense of being’. I used a similar metaphor in a recent poem and it really resonates with me. And then the kick of the ‘sullen rosebud’ – reminds me of William Blake.

    Like

  2. a sullen rosebud……..oh this is the perfect last line for this haibun. Sometimes I think that each morning, enveloped in my down comforter, I’m arising from a chrysallis, a new person, thankful for the new day…and I am still “becoming.” 🙂 Loved this post!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.