14 Mar 2017

I think, Marcus, that paying forward an unexpected gift of kindness from a stranger, is the kind of utterly simple and beautiful idea that transforms living into art. You can imagine a giant thread of compassion looping its way through unconnected hearts, or maybe there are a million little threads, seemingly separate but somehow linked together, making life bearable.

You know, it’s just statistical probability that you sometimes get assistance when you desperately need it. It’s not like there’s a chart put out each morning showing who is tasked to help whom in the most unlikeliest of situations, and how the karma gets squared off over time, so good can one day come full circle.

If there are no dots to be connected and no one is miraculously connecting them, it makes it even better doesn’t it, that somehow the energy keeps flowing, reaching places of darkness, filling them with light?

Or it shows is that living is so broken that so much has to be fixed through the benevolence of people whose names we will never know.

making rainbows together
the sun and the rain talk about
another monsoon

31 thoughts on “14 Mar 2017

  1. I think that “paying it forward” is an act of faith. A firm belief in the essential goodness of life, and the world we inhabit. It is so much easier to cower in some dark corner, than to carry, and to be, the light that dispels that darkness. Faith is believing in something unseen, yet to be revealed. And rainbows are a symbol of promise.

    Sunshine and rain dancing
    together, unknown promise
    unfolding rainbow

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. As someone, who has been a beneficiary, of this, after my mom’s rejection of me, I try to pay back, to others, the help, I was given, so freely, by then strangers, to me.

    Like

  3. I, too, noted the phenomenon of paying forward! I love the images I get from your poem of rainbows, ribbons, and threads, dark corners and lots of light and cloud. Perhaps there is no map, who knows? But whether or not we have free will, we live as if we do. Your Haiku makes me recall the too much that rain can give, and I suppose the sun can overachieve as well. Yet I believe only paying forward can heal the soul of the world. I have delivered potted plants to co-workers who acted like enemies. Tank you for this .
    poem.

    Like

  4. This is so wonderfully deep and reflective, especially love; “If there are no dots to be connected and no one is miraculously connecting them, it makes it even better doesn’t it, that somehow the energy keeps flowing, reaching places of darkness, filling them with light?”

    Like

  5. This is wonderful. I love the idea of good coming full circle. In my life, I have seen that….kindness that came my way, I get to extend to others to encourage them along the path as I once was encouraged. I love your haiku!!

    Like

    1. I think sometimes a stranger touches our lives in a meaningful way…definitely not in all our moments of need, but when it does happen, it is unexpected and therefore more valuable.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I have often been the recipient of random acts of kindness from strangers. I hope to do better at being a giver of random acts of kindness to people I do not know.

    Like

  7. I do wish it were more than a statistical probability that a person got help when they really needed it. I wish it always happened…. We must be thankful for those benevolent people though, and hopefully they will multiply in this day and age! A thought-provoking reflection here.

    Like

Comments are closed.